Still life with Bird, 9'' x 15'', soft pastel on paper

Bird Gift, 15 3/4” x 12”, soft pastel on paper

Here’s a still life I completed using soft pastels. As I complete these paintings, I learn a lot about value and the juxtaposition of colors to achieve a certain effect. I’m relatively new to pastels, so I also learn a lot about technique and how to best use my materials to get the most out of a composition. This was a tricky still life, simply because of all the vivid colors, tonal shifts, and the subtleties of the bird’s feathers.

Leave a Reply

